Food Friday: Ritter Sport

21 01 2011

[Waldenbuch, 1932, 3am]

Clara: Schatzi, wake up!

Alfred: (German swear words) what is it?

Clara: I have an idea.

Alfred: (more German swear words) what is it this time?

Clara: We should make a chocolate bar that fits into everyone’s jacket pocket.

Alfred: hmph, can’t we talk about this in the morning?

And thus the Ritter Sport was born!

 

Mmmm, chocolate

Ok, so I made up that it happened in the middle of the night and that Alfred Ritter swore like a sailor, but the rest is accurate. NB: Pocket does not mean jeans pocket because no one wore them in 1930s Germany and it would get all melty and gross.  Now you know why this chocolate bar that is full of fat and other goodness can have the name Sport. If you walk/run while eating the pieces in your pocket it almost makes up for eating one of these.

Yes, they now sell Ritter Sport in the States, but not in so many flavors. I frankly think the actual chocolate tastes kinda blah, but I love all the fillings.  My favorite is the strawberry yogurt filling.  Or maybe raisins and hazelnuts. Or maybe the white chocolate with hazelnuts.

The often release special limited flavors, last summer it was stracciatella gelato (which was really like ice cream), mango peach in white chocolate, and wild-berry yogurt.  I would never become a “Ribhead” but I would happily wander around Germany to get those flavors again if it would do any good.

The slogan in German “Quadratisch. Praktisch. Gut.” (“Square. Practical. Good.”)  Frankly, I think this says it all.


Actions

Information

One response

22 01 2011
BZ

this is my life. period.

Leave a comment