Food Friday: Fasching Kra…WTF?!

4 03 2011

I am feeling decidedly uncreative today, so I thought you, the reader,  should do my work for me. Your mission, should you choose to accept it, is to explain the donut at the top on the right side.

Huh???

Yes that is a syringe. I believe it is filled with strawberry icing, but that  is just a guess. The best explanation wins a prize from Germany. Do not worry, it will not be one of those donuts.

Close-up

And just in case you don’t remember the last year’s German donut lesson, here it is:

So as Fasching approaches all the stores are decorating.  This mostly means one is surrounded by clowns and feather boas.  The bakeries have all their different types of Krapfen out on display. I have now eaten two and I think I have reached my donut limit for the rest of the year.

But as you know German is a fun language and Bavarians and Austrians often have their own names for things. So if I do want another and am in Berlin I cannot just ask for Krapfen.

So if you would ever like a doughnut filled with stuff in Germany around carnival season, here is what you need to know:

1. In Bavarian and Austria = Krapfen
2. In most of the rest of Germany = Berliner
3. In Berlin = Pfannkuchen. This makes perfect sense because that word in the rest of Germany means a type of pancake. Why would we want to make this easy on anyone?!


Actions

Information

6 responses

4 03 2011
Kate

Well, obviously this is a do-it-yourself jelly donut.

(according to a reliable source, jelly donuts are Berliners. so there.)

Also, this bakery wants to be featured on CakeWrecks. Hint, hint.

4 03 2011
BZ

i need to come visit you again. like right now.

4 03 2011
Erin

At first I was going to say the donut featured one of the Toot Sweets from Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, but then I saw the close-up, and you are right. It is a syringe. A few possible explanations come to mind. 1. Many Germans mainline strawberry icing, and it gives them the munchies. 2. Isn’t Transylvania somewhere around there? Perhaps that bakery caters to vampires and the syringe is actually filled with blood.

25 03 2011
Cheryl

Erin definitely wins the prize!

25 03 2011
Cheryl

Let us not ignore the doughnut just below the bloody syringe which apparently suffered a pigeon bombardment.

25 03 2011
Erin

Yay!

Leave a comment