Salmagundi Sunday: My Favorite Things Meets Food Friday

10 10 2010

I was more than a bit of a slacker this week with the blog and missed my favorite day, Food Friday. Try as we might, we humans can never go back in time. (Unless we inexplicably have a crazy scientist friend and a DeLorean). Therefore, I am combining Thursday and Friday’s posts into one.  The subject is the Österia, my favorite restaurant in Munich. I am stealing photos from their website.

[What is Salmagundi? A reliable source says it is 1. a salad plate of chopped meats, anchovies, eggs, and vegetables arranged in rows for contrast and dressed with a salad dressing or 2. a heterogeneous mixture. Obviously, my title refers to definition number 1]

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.

1. The name.  A mix of osteria (literally translated from Italian it means a place where the owner hosts people) and Österreich (German for Austria). You gotta love puns.  Also it feels very much like a neighborhood place. Maybe because it is in my neighborhood.

2. I also love the atmosphere and decor.

 

Front of the Restaurant

 

 

The 'back' of the restaurant

 

3. The food is amazing. Thursday night I had pasta in an orange infused sauce with crab. For dessert I had chocolate gateau (the top part was like a brownie, the rest smooth creamy chocolate) with some sort of sorbet on the side.

 

I know this is a blurry picture, but I was taking it in a dark restaurant with my iPhone surreptitiously

 

As my friend said the next night, “how is any of this Austria?”  My answer, “well, Wiener Schnitzel is always on the menu.”

4. The Wine, which is in fact all Austrian. It comes from Oesiwine which is next door and is really all part of the same thing. Now you might say,  “Austrian wine??? I have had Grüner Veltliner and was not all that impressed.” And I would answer, “But that is why the wine here is so amazing. It is ridiculously good and they know how to pair things.”  [Alternatively, you might say, “This is a boring blog post.” My answer would then be full of obscenities.]

So if you are in Munich and looking for a great place to eat check it out.  If you do, you better damn well invite me.


Actions

Information

One response

11 10 2010
Olivia

Of course an Austrian restaurant is your favorite! Is anyone surprised? Love the osteria pun, btw.

Leave a comment